
Tested Material Used To NY-Life-Accident-and-Health Test Engine Exam Questions in here [Jul-2026]
Penetration testers simulate NY-Life-Accident-and-Health exam PDF
NEW QUESTION # 49
Which type of group has a constitution and bylaws, is organized and maintained in good faith for purposes other than obtaining insurance, and has insurance for the purpose of covering members and their employees?
- A. Association or labor group.
- B. Credit Insurance group.
- C. Multiple employer group.
- D. Employee or individual employer group.
Answer: A
Explanation:
An association or labor group is a type of eligible group used in group insurance arrangements. These groups are typically formed for professional, trade, or labor-related purposes , not primarily to obtain insurance coverage. To qualify for group insurance, such associations must usually meet certain regulatory standards.
These include having a formal organizational structure , such as a constitution and bylaws , and being organized and maintained in good faith for reasons other than purchasing insurance.
The group insurance coverage is then offered to members of the association and often their employees , allowing individuals who share a common professional or labor affiliation to obtain insurance benefits through the association. Because these organizations already exist for legitimate purposes-such as promoting professional interests, labor representation, or trade development-regulators allow them to sponsor group insurance plans.
The other options do not match the description provided. Credit insurance groups relate to loan repayment protection. Multiple employer groups involve several employers joining together to provide coverage, and employee/employer groups are typical workplace plans sponsored by a single employer. The description given specifically fits an association or labor group .
NEW QUESTION # 50
An annuity product linked to a market-related rate of return is called
- A. a deferred annuity.
- B. a tax-sheltered annuity.
- C. an indexed annuity.
- D. a fixed annuity.
Answer: C
Explanation:
The correct answer is an indexed annuity . An indexed annuity is a type of annuity whose rate of return is linked to the performance of a market index , such as a stock market index. Rather than earning a fixed guaranteed interest rate like a fixed annuity, the credited interest in an indexed annuity is based partly on how the selected market index performs during a specific period. However, indexed annuities typically include protective features , such as a minimum guaranteed interest rate or principal protection, which help shield the policyholder from direct market losses.
This structure allows the annuity owner to potentially benefit from market-related growth while maintaining a level of safety associated with insurance products. In licensing materials used for life and annuity training, indexed annuities are commonly described as products that combine elements of fixed annuities and equity market performance .
The other options are incorrect. A fixed annuity provides a guaranteed interest rate not tied to market performance. A deferred annuity refers to the timing of benefit payments rather than the investment structure.
A tax-sheltered annuity generally refers to retirement plans such as 403(b) arrangements used by certain employees. Therefore, the correct answer is indexed annuity .
NEW QUESTION # 51
The insured, who is 59 years of age decides to replace a long-term care policy they had for five years for a new policy. Which of the following is true of the insurer?
- A. The original insurer will reimburse benefit dollars not used under the original policy period.
- B. The replacement insurer will not honor previous exclusions that had previously been satisfied under the original policy.
- C. The replacement insurer will waive probationary periods pertaining to preexisting conditions satisfied under the original policy.
- D. The replacement insurer will impose new probationary period and preexisting condition limitations.
Answer: C
Explanation:
The correct answer is D. The replacement insurer will waive probationary periods pertaining to preexisting conditions satisfied under the original policy. In long-term care insurance replacement rules, an insured should not lose credit for time already served under an existing policy when moving to a new long-term care policy. If the insured has already satisfied a preexisting condition limitation or probationary period under the old policy, the replacing insurer must give credit for that satisfied period instead of starting a new waiting period from the beginning. This protects consumers from being penalized simply because they replaced coverage.
Choice A is incorrect because the original insurer is not required to reimburse unused benefit dollars when a policy is replaced. Choice B is incorrect because the replacement insurer may not simply impose a brand-new probationary or preexisting condition exclusion for periods already satisfied under the old coverage. Choice C is also incorrect because the replacement coverage must recognize prior satisfied waiting periods. Therefore, under long-term care replacement standards, the insurer replacing the policy must waive any probationary periods for preexisting conditions that were already satisfied under the original policy .
NEW QUESTION # 52
With regard to Disability Insurance, the waiting period is to
- A. determine policyowner ' s eligibility.
- B. accurately calculate medical expenses.
- C. determine severity of illness.
- D. exclude payments for a short-term illness.
Answer: D
Explanation:
The correct answer is A. exclude payments for a short-term illness. In disability income insurance, the waiting period , also called the elimination period , is the period of time that must pass after a covered disability begins before benefits become payable. Its primary purpose is to prevent the policy from paying for very brief or temporary disabilities and to reduce the insurer's exposure to small, short-duration claims. Because many minor illnesses or injuries resolve quickly, the waiting period acts like a time deductible rather than a dollar deductible.
This makes choice A the best answer. The waiting period is not used to measure the severity of the illness, so B is incorrect. It is also not intended to calculate medical expenses, because disability insurance pays based on loss of income rather than reimbursement of medical bills, making C incorrect. D is also incorrect because policy eligibility is determined through underwriting and contract terms, not by the waiting period itself.
Therefore, the waiting period in disability insurance is mainly used to exclude benefits for short-term illnesses or disabilities and help keep premiums more affordable.
NEW QUESTION # 53
An insured individual who has been diagnosed with osteoporosis needs therapy in her home. Which type of long-term care benefit would be MOST appropriate for her?
- A. Home health care.
- B. Intermediate care.
- C. Adult day care.
- D. Skilled nursing care.
Answer: A
Explanation:
The correct answer is Home health care . Long-term care coverage is designed to provide services for individuals who need ongoing assistance because of chronic illness, disability, or conditions that limit their ability to function independently. When the question specifically states that the insured needs therapy in her home , the most appropriate long-term care benefit is home health care , because this benefit is intended for medical or therapeutic services delivered in the insured's residence.
Home health care can include services such as physical therapy, occupational therapy, speech therapy, part- time nursing care, and assistance with daily functioning , depending on policy terms and the insured's condition. For a person with osteoporosis , in-home therapy may help improve mobility, reduce the risk of falls, and support recovery or maintenance without requiring confinement in a facility.
The other options are less appropriate. Skilled nursing care and intermediate care generally refer to facility- based services, while adult day care provides daytime supervision or assistance outside the home. Since the question emphasizes therapy in the home , the benefit that best fits is C. Home health care .
NEW QUESTION # 54
Which of the following is an example of risk sharing?
- A. installing a sprinkler system in a high-rise building
- B. choosing not to purchase a car
- C. purchasing an insurance policy to cover liability exposures
- D. pooling money to cover malpractice exposures
Answer: D
Explanation:
Risk sharing is a risk management technique in which a group combines resources so that losses experienced by a few are spread across many. The classic insurance concept behind this is pooling : each participant contributes money to a common fund, and the fund is used to pay covered losses as they occur. Option B describes this directly- pooling money to cover malpractice exposures -because malpractice losses can be unpredictable and potentially severe, and sharing them across a group reduces the financial impact on any one member.
The other options describe different risk management methods. Option A (not purchasing a car) is risk avoidance -eliminating the exposure entirely. Option C (installing sprinklers) is risk reduction/loss control , lowering the frequency or severity of loss. Option D (purchasing an insurance policy) is primarily risk transfer
, shifting the financial consequences of specified losses to an insurer in exchange for a premium. Because only option B reflects spreading losses among a group through pooling, it is the best example of risk sharing .
NEW QUESTION # 55
When a buyer is considering a long-term care policy, they are encouraged to review carefully all policy
- A. facilities.
- B. agents.
- C. carriers.
- D. limitations.
Answer: D
Explanation:
The correct answer is limitations . When evaluating a long-term care policy , applicants are strongly encouraged to review all policy limitations, exclusions, waiting periods, benefit triggers, and conditions of coverage before purchasing the contract. Long-term care insurance can vary significantly from one policy to another, so understanding what the policy does not cover is just as important as understanding the benefits it provides.
Policy limitations may affect the types of care covered, such as nursing home care, assisted living care, home health care, adult day care, or custodial care . They may also define when benefits begin, how long they continue, whether preexisting conditions are restricted, and what eligibility standards must be met before benefits become payable. Because long-term care policies often involve substantial premiums and are intended for future healthcare needs, buyers must carefully examine these details to avoid unexpected gaps in coverage.
The other choices are incorrect because although facilities, carriers, and agents may all be important considerations, the standard warning in long-term care insurance education is to review the policy limitations carefully. Therefore, A. limitations is the correct answer.
NEW QUESTION # 56
If a long-term care insurance policy or certificate replaces another long-term care policy, what does the replacing policy have to do?
- A. waive any time periods applicable to preexisting conditions as long as the client agrees in writing to stay on a doctor recommended treatment schedule
- B. allow a 45-day " free look " period
- C. waive any time periods applicable to preexisting conditions to the extent that similar exclusions have been satisfied under the original policy
- D. waive any preexisting conditions requirements after 30 days and allow for a 45-day " free look " period
Answer: C
Explanation:
The correct answer is C. waive any time periods applicable to preexisting conditions to the extent that similar exclusions have been satisfied under the original policy. In long-term care insurance replacement rules, the purpose is to protect the insured from losing credit for coverage already earned under the old policy. When one long-term care policy replaces another, the replacing insurer cannot force the insured to start over on preexisting condition limitation periods that were already satisfied under the original coverage. Instead, the new policy must give credit for that prior time.
This consumer-protection rule prevents unfair duplication of waiting periods and helps ensure continuity of coverage. It applies specifically to similar exclusions or limitation periods that have already been met under the old long-term care policy. The replacement policy must recognize that satisfied time and waive the equivalent remaining portion.
The other choices are incorrect because the key legal requirement in replacement is not centered on a 45-day free-look period or a written agreement about treatment schedules. While free-look rights may exist in certain long-term care policies, that is not the specific replacement obligation being tested here. The required action is to credit previously satisfied preexisting-condition waiting periods , which makes C the correct answer.
NEW QUESTION # 57
Long-term care policies MUST cover which of the following conditions?
- A. Self-inflicted injuries.
- B. Acts of war while serving in the military.
- C. Alcoholism or drug addiction.
- D. Alzheimer's disease.
Answer: D
Explanation:
Long-term care (LTC) insurance is intended to cover services needed when an insured cannot perform activities of daily living (ADLs) or suffers a cognitive impairment that requires substantial supervision for health and safety. A core regulatory and policy design principle is that LTC benefits must be available for qualifying impairments regardless of whether the cause is physical or cognitive . Alzheimer's disease is a leading cause of cognitive impairment and is specifically recognized in LTC training materials as a condition LTC policies must cover when it results in the required level of functional or cognitive limitation. In practice, Alzheimer's often triggers eligibility through the cognitive impairment standard, even when the insured can still perform some ADLs, because supervision is needed to protect the individual from threats to health and safety.
The other options are commonly associated with policy exclusions rather than required coverage. LTC policies frequently exclude losses related to war or acts of war , and they may exclude intentionally self- inflicted injuries . Alcoholism or drug addiction is not treated as a mandatory covered condition in the same way; coverage depends on policy terms and is often limited or excluded. Therefore, the condition LTC policies must cover is Alzheimer's disease .
NEW QUESTION # 58
Under the grace period, an insured submits a $300 claim for medical expenses. The insurer notes that the insured has a past due premium of $100, and as a result, the insurer only pays $200. Which of the following provisions covers this situation?
- A. Unpaid premium.
- B. Payment of claims.
- C. Misstatement of age.
- D. Payment actions.
Answer: A
Explanation:
The correct answer is Unpaid premium . In accident and health insurance, the unpaid premium provision permits the insurer to deduct any premium that is due and unpaid from a claim payment when a loss occurs during the grace period. The grace period allows coverage to remain in force for a limited time after the premium due date, giving the insured an opportunity to make the overdue payment without immediate lapse of coverage. However, if a claim is submitted during that period, the insurer has the right to subtract the outstanding premium from the amount otherwise payable.
In this question, the insured submits a $300 claim , but because $100 in premium is overdue , the insurer pays only $200 . That is exactly how the unpaid premium provision operates.
The other choices do not fit. Payment of claims refers to how and to whom claims are paid, not deduction of overdue premium. Misstatement of age applies when an incorrect age affects premium or benefits. Payment actions is not the standard policy provision being tested here. Therefore, the correct answer is A. Unpaid premium .
NEW QUESTION # 59
A whole life policy is replaced with an annuity without incurring a tax penalty. This is referred to as
- A. a Transfer of Value.
- B. an Endowment Contract.
- C. a 1035 Exchange.
- D. a Cross-Purchase Plan.
Answer: C
Explanation:
The correct answer is D. a 1035 Exchange . Under federal tax rules commonly tested in life insurance licensing materials, a Section 1035 exchange allows certain insurance products to be replaced with other qualifying insurance products without immediate taxation on any gain in the original contract. This means that if a policyowner exchanges a life insurance policy for a permitted replacement contract, the transaction may occur on a tax-deferred basis rather than being treated as a taxable surrender.
In exam terminology, a 1035 exchange is important because it preserves the policyowner's accumulated values while avoiding current tax consequences that would normally apply if the contract were simply cashed out. The other choices do not fit this tax-free replacement concept. A cross-purchase plan is a business continuation arrangement, an endowment contract is a type of life insurance contract, and transfer of value refers to a rule that can affect the tax treatment of death benefits after a policy transfer. Therefore, the recognized term for replacing a whole life policy with another qualifying contract without current tax liability is a 1035 Exchange .
NEW QUESTION # 60
In broad terms, the types of support and services generally associated with Long-Term Care policies are provided at which three levels of care?
- A. Skilled nursing, Intermediate, and custodial care.
- B. Functional, rehabilitational, and medical care.
- C. Home-based, assisted living, and medical care.
- D. Professional, social, and economic care.
Answer: A
Explanation:
The correct answer is D. Skilled nursing, Intermediate, and custodial care. Long-Term Care insurance is designed to help cover ongoing care for individuals who cannot fully care for themselves because of chronic illness, disability, cognitive impairment, or the inability to perform activities of daily living. In traditional insurance licensing materials, long-term care services are commonly described as being delivered at three broad levels: skilled nursing care , intermediate care , and custodial care .
Skilled nursing care is the highest level and involves medically necessary services performed by licensed medical personnel under a doctor's supervision. Intermediate care is less intensive than skilled nursing care but still involves professional oversight and some medical or rehabilitative support. Custodial care provides assistance with personal needs such as bathing, dressing, eating, and moving about, and it is the type of care most commonly associated with long-term care claims.
The other answer choices do not reflect the standard three recognized levels used in long-term care insurance terminology. Therefore, the broad categories of care generally associated with Long-Term Care policies are skilled nursing, intermediate, and custodial care .
NEW QUESTION # 61
When a provider does NOT have an agreement with the insurer for payment, they will be reimbursed
- A. an absolute fee.
- B. a non-scheduled plan customary fee.
- C. a relative fee.
- D. a usual, customary, and reasonable fee.
Answer: D
Explanation:
When a medical provider does not have a contract or payment agreement with an insurer (often called a nonparticipating or out-of-network provider), the insurer generally does not pay based on a negotiated contract rate. Instead, reimbursement is commonly determined using a UCR methodology- Usual, Customary, and Reasonable charges. "Usual" refers to the typical charge a provider makes for a service;
"customary" reflects what providers in the same geographic area commonly charge for that service; and
"reasonable" considers whether the charge is appropriate given the circumstances and local market norms.
Under many major medical plans, the insurer pays a percentage of the UCR amount (subject to deductibles and coinsurance), and the patient may be responsible for any difference between the provider's billed charge and the insurer's allowed UCR amount (often referred to as balance billing , where permitted).
The other choices do not match standard insurer payment terminology: "absolute" and "relative" fee are not the typical reimbursement basis described for noncontracted providers, and "non-scheduled plan customary fee" is not the recognized standard method used in these plan provisions.
NEW QUESTION # 62
Who would NOT be covered under an additional insured rider attached to a life insurance policy?
- A. Employees.
- B. Minor children.
- C. Dependent parents.
- D. A spouse.
Answer: A
Explanation:
The correct answer is Employees . An additional insured rider on a life insurance policy is generally used to extend coverage to certain family members of the primary insured, rather than to unrelated business associates or workers. In standard life insurance practice, these riders commonly apply to persons who have a close family relationship with the insured, such as a spouse , minor children , and in some cases other qualifying dependents . The purpose is to provide limited additional life insurance protection under one policy for members of the insured's household or dependent family unit.
Employees do not fall within the normal scope of an additional insured rider on an individual life insurance policy. Coverage for employees is ordinarily handled through group life insurance , employer-sponsored plans
, or separate business-related insurance arrangements, not through a family rider attached to a personal life insurance contract.
This question tests the distinction between family-type dependent coverage and employment-related coverage
. Since a spouse, minor children, and dependent parents may be considered dependents for rider purposes, the choice that would not be covered under this rider is employees .
NEW QUESTION # 63
A Medicare Supplement policy must NOT contain benefits which
- A. duplicate Medicare benefits.
- B. charge additional premiums.
- C. are covered by Workers Compensation.
- D. cover more than Medicare coverage.
Answer: A
Explanation:
A Medicare Supplement policy (Medigap) is designed specifically to fill the gaps in coverage left by Medicare Parts A and B . These policies are standardized and regulated to ensure that they supplement, rather than replace or duplicate, Medicare benefits. The purpose of Medigap coverage is to help pay for certain out- of-pocket expenses , such as deductibles, copayments, coinsurance, and other costs that original Medicare does not fully cover. Because of this purpose, Medicare Supplement policies are not allowed to duplicate benefits that Medicare already provides . If a benefit were duplicated, it would violate the fundamental principle that Medigap policies are intended only to supplement existing Medicare coverage , not provide overlapping payments for the same services.
Option A is incorrect because insurers may charge premiums for the coverage provided under the policy.
Option C is incorrect because Medigap plans may include benefits that help pay expenses beyond Medicare's basic coverage limits (such as additional hospital days). Option D is incorrect because Workers' Compensation operates separately and is not the defining restriction placed on Medigap benefits. Therefore, Medicare Supplement policies must not duplicate Medicare benefits .
NEW QUESTION # 64
Which of the following Long Term Disability clauses states that insureds are considered totally disabled when they CANNOT perform the major duties of a gainful occupation for which they are reasonably suited because of education, training, or experience?
- A. Presumptive disability clause.
- B. Any occupation clause.
- C. Partial disability clause.
- D. Regular occupation clause.
Answer: B
Explanation:
The wording in the question-"cannot perform the major duties of a gainful occupation for which they are reasonably suited by education, training, or experience"-matches the any occupation definition of total disability used in many long-term disability (LTD) policies. Under an any occupation clause , an insured is considered totally disabled only if the disability prevents them from working in any gainful job that they could reasonably be expected to do based on their background (education, training, and experience). This is a stricter standard than "own/regular occupation." Option C, the regular (own) occupation clause , defines total disability as the inability to perform the substantial and material duties of the insured's own occupation (the job they were doing when disabled), even if they might be able to work elsewhere. Option A, partial disability , applies when the insured can still perform some duties or work part-time and typically experiences reduced income. Option B, presumptive disability , applies to severe, specified losses (e.g., loss of sight, speech, hearing, or limbs) that automatically qualify as total disability. Therefore, the clause described is the any occupation clause .
NEW QUESTION # 65
The Group Life Underwriting risk selection process helps protect insurers from
- A. risk selection.
- B. medical underwriting.
- C. adverse selection.
- D. risk underwriting.
Answer: C
Explanation:
The correct answer is adverse selection . In group life insurance, underwriting is generally based on the characteristics of the group as a whole rather than on extensive medical underwriting of each individual member. Because of this simplified underwriting approach, insurers must rely on certain group underwriting standards to protect themselves against the possibility that only those individuals who expect to need coverage most urgently will enroll. This danger is known as adverse selection .
Adverse selection occurs when people with a higher-than-average likelihood of loss are more motivated to obtain insurance than lower-risk individuals. In group life insurance, underwriting controls such as minimum participation requirements, employer contributions, eligibility rules, and actively-at-work provisions help ensure that the risk is spread across a broad base of insured persons rather than concentrated among poor risks. These requirements preserve the stability of the insurance pool and support fair premium pricing.
The other answer choices are incorrect because "risk selection" and "risk underwriting" are not the specific underwriting problem being tested, and "medical underwriting" is a process, not the danger the insurer is trying to avoid. Therefore, the correct answer is C. adverse selection .
NEW QUESTION # 66
......
Authentic Best resources for NY-Life-Accident-and-Health Online Practice Exam: https://www.itcertmagic.com/Insurance-Licensing/real-NY-Life-Accident-and-Health-exam-prep-dumps.html
Get the superior quality NY-Life-Accident-and-Health Dumps with explanations waiting just for you, get it now: https://drive.google.com/open?id=13bbWh4K1nFbJEPaGLaDnZ3nKVQEhXyQp